Thanks to HarperCollins Canada for a copy of this book to review.

The Book of Hidden Wonders is definitely not what I had expected – it was better.

The story is beautifully written and starts off describing the idyllic childhood of Romilly Kemp, filled with lots of outdoor exploring and adventures. Her father is an artist, and he publishes a series of children’s books with Romilly as the star. Then life begins to change. The tone of the story gradually becomes darker as Romilly ages, as she slowly loses those that she holds dear.

This book bends your brain a bit. The lightness early in the story had me expecting the plot to follow a certain course – but it all went sideways and left me guessing. I couldn’t put it down, and ended up reading it in one sitting. And the ending is fantastic – I totally didn’t see it coming.

The Book of Hidden Wonders is now available, and I highly recommend it.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.